Now you see him , now you don’t

Although we are some way off “completion” at the French village house (which I think may be an abstract concept anyway) I cannot resist looking at lighting for the near finished terrace room and salon.

I spotted this great lamp, inspired by the classic anglepoise, in M. Bricolage’s lighting department.

This place is not to be sniffed at, I found a great shade for the dining area there also.

The floor standing lamp is made from a grey washed hardwood, with chunky and functional little “tap” type angle adjustors and featuring  vintage style fabric covered   cord and a heavy marble base to keep it stable. The shade is patinated  zinc. I love it so I took  a photo, then a second one milliseconds later in which  Trevor had stealthily materialised ! I always suspected he  has mysterious and preternatural talents.

He has the spooky ability to find me WHEREVER I am, and no matter how obscure a place. We don’t even bother agreeing rendez-vous because he just has this homing beacon. Example-he was working in Worthing (Sussex) once, and said he would join me for lunch at a specific time & I went off sight seeing.

Worthing is a fair sized town. At the appointed hour he just materialised behind me. He does that.

My daughter finds it very amusing and says it’s a kind of affectionate stalking.

20150521_11350320150521_113435

What struck me about the lamp photos is how old we are looking. 20150522_122005I put up the first pictures in the salon last month, including a hard pastel of Trev on Ingres paper I sketched not long after we met in 1994.

I drew this as an experiment in fading light and always felt I captured him better than in any sketch since.

This was pre mid-life-crisis beard and pre grey hair .

We are getting old

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Now you see him , now you don’t

  1. poshbirdy says:

    Remember that it’s not an ageing process, it’s a perfecting process, Gill

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gabriele says:

    When I used to vacation in the Grand Sud a friend from Amsterdam would join me. He said he could never aspire to dating a French woman but he wished he had M. Bricolage for a father…a father who could understand DIY could refer to making one’s own decisions.
    Back in the US, he has not abandonned his father-figure…says one can’t feel filial to someone named ‘OSH’…

    Like

  3. bizzyella says:

    Nice drawing. The weird thing is, I never think of it as getting older. I think of it as getting fatter. The problem with that is that when I do lose weight I am always amazed that I still have sags and wrinkles.

    Like

    • It’s the age on paper that freaks me out, inside I am still essentially a bohemian sixteen year old art student

      Like

      • bizzyella says:

        Yeah. I tried explaining that to a grandson. ” You know, every day is all new for us, too.” He looked at me like I had told him the steering had just gone out in the car and I wasn’t so sure about the brakes, either. What a hoot. I wonder whether, when he is 60, he will remember the conversation and if he does, what he will think of it.

        Like

      • As the man said, youth is wasted on the young…………………..

        Like

  4. Osyth says:

    Have you ever seen the movie ‘Mr Deeds’ with Adam Sandler? The Butler has a disconcerting habit of just materialising … ‘ I am bery berry sneaky’ he says – is this Trev? PS: I LOVE Monsieur Bric!

    Like

  5. We are not getting old, we are maturing and therefore getting stronger and better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

