Why water is key for me

le riviere AudeI like to watch water, even if it isn’t doing a lot.

I have always felt a strong affinity with rivers and lakes particularly . We are a long way from the sea here in the UK, the furthest “inland” I have ever lived, and I am not happy about it.We do have some pretty canal walks that keep me just about sane, but proximity to “proper” water was certainly  the second biggest plus point for the French house.

The ancient riverside village of Campagne-sur-Aude maintains many of the important waterside buildings and direct access to the Aude and the strategic choice to start a settlement in this location is crystal clear. I love the way that this river made this place work, & I love the fact that we have it a few steps away and can hear it in it’s many moods from  gently ambling along to dramatic mountain meltwater fury in early spring

DSC00169IMG_2764

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The juxtaposition of moody Scottish skies, an iconic building and deeply mysterious water inspired my painting of the Cameron House Hotel on Loch Lomond, a gift for my niece who held her wedding reception there on  a (meteorologically) temperamental July day in 2005.

I am looking at picking a spot on the river Aude to paint another homage to water, stone and sky.

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Art, design and inspiration blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why water is key for me

  1. Osyth says:

    Thank you for posting this … it turns out that I was just reading your comment on the last post I (shamefully) blogged on April 29th in which you said you would find this picture. You capture the loch and the sky so brilliantly. I can only say that I wish I could take paint and make sense on canvas but I can’t … I’d love to see more of your work and I need to ask if you paint commercially?

    Like

  2. Great picture of the Loch and Hotel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

