The Thursday Three- Toile de Jouy and vintage frames

DSC03115I know my Thursday Three has been rather neglected lately, so, to compensate, I bring you, on tuesday, this stunning curtain.

In a Chinoiserie influenced toile, lined and backed in a a more conventional country pattern of little vignettes framed in a diamond trellis design.

Classic madder (soft red) on off-white colourway, this piece has a simple sewn on  valance, large metal rings to hang  and undyed natural cotton heavy tassel fringing.

DSC03116I like this for a number of reasons; it’s beautifully made, will keep out the cold in winter and will look the part in the French village house. I have to decide whether to divide it into two curtains for tulip room window or swathe it dramatically to one side..hmmm

I have also been working again on the what is now known as the bordello mirror (thanks bizzyella at French Country) see

https://coteetcampagne.wordpress.com/2015/05/10/sort-out-sunday/

I am finally happy with the painted finish….also started a  collection of suitable old frames  for  artwork. Our rented cottage in UK is now stacked with stuff earmarked for serious editing.

You may glimpse a few canvases..yes I am finally thinking about painting again.

DSC03118DSC03114

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Thursday Three- Toile de Jouy and vintage frames

  1. Osyth says:

    Of course I love the mirrors – I have a previously diagnosed addiction for the reflective but it is the toile de jouy that caught my eye … in one of the upstairs bedrooms at the project house I recently recovered a beauteous piece being used to line some old gold velvet curtains …. it’s hard to know which I love more and I am aiming to separate them – any tips gratefully received 🙂

    Like

    • Sit down with a couple of hours to spare and a pair of nail scissors with the smallest blades and tiniest, sharpest points you can find and carefully prise the layers apart and snip through stitch by stitch. Probably hand stitched, as are mine on post.
      I have to take my curtain apart to make two; so will be doing something similar this weekend

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bizzyella says:

    Ooh, practical, pretty, and definitely classy. Will it share a room with the bordello mirror? That makes it fun. I vote for dividing it in two but it will be nice either way.

    Like

    • I am inclined to divide also, this is modest village house, not grand maison de maitre
      They will hang out in tulip bedroom- had another pair of curtains earrmarked for in there, but in the spirit of lightening everything up as much as possible, have come to the realisation that we need whites and creams in all the windows

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

