belated Thursday Three and a sad goodbye to some textile treasures

DSC03101It’s  always hard to part with pieces that I have collected over the years , but our French renovation project is all about paring back  and downsizing and living simply and economically with less stuff. That doesn’t mean that I won’t have beautiful things around me, I could not live happily in any environment that  did not please me aesthetically but I can’t take everything.

So the serious life and stuff edit starts now.

The delicate gold threadwork bedspread/wall hanging above and right does not suit any of our French spaces so that DSC03103….

and the embroidered runner-top & below– and linen cross stitch pyjama case below are on ebay right now .

If you would like a quick look, there is an ebay link button on the “services ” page of our website- which you can access  top right of my blog home page

DSC03087DSC03094

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to belated Thursday Three and a sad goodbye to some textile treasures

  1. Sometimes letting go means forgetting…….not for me.

    Like

  2. Osyth says:

    Good reminder … have book marked the page on Ebaby and will take a proper look later when I get back 🙂

    Like

    • Well, there will be lots more where those came from
      Making big decisions about what we keep for France and what has to go.I’ve sold off collections before but this is likely to be our last move so I MUST edit strictly
      It’s tough isn’t it , making that call?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        It really is the toughest thing of all. I had an enforced life edit about 5 years ago …. there are still things I hanker for all this time later. Old blue Eyes had it right ‘regrets, I have a few – but then again, too few to mention’! But seriously, good luck with it and given that I am now in a position to start collecting some, I will be keeping an eagle eye on your Ebay trove 🙂

        Like

      • Yep, this isn’t the first “enforced life edit” for me, but I can’t keep every lovely thing I find, I just like to think that it all goes to another good home.
        And the edited stuff will simply be what is right chez nous

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        With such lovely things, they will certainly go to good homes – only people who understand will want them, after all. And as I keep saying … this place will be absolutely stunning – a triumph – it’s easy to see that from what you have done and what you show. And the flat is pretty damn gorgeous too 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

