Episode 108- at last, some clues to support my ideas on paint effects and the answer to a vexatious question

Have a look at this link, number four “French country decor for walls”- http://www.dreamhomedecorating.com/french-country-decor.html

I have seen this decorative paint treatment before, generally in French country interiors and specifically atchambre-rose this beautiful renovation job which has featured in numerous French, American & UK magazines-see link-

http://www.les-sardines.com/en/the-3-rooms.html

Basically, there are two shades used, lighter above and darker below, and sometimes a contrast narrow band of paint separates the two . I had already tentatively marked out our little entrance hall and the first stairway with what seems to be the typical  line of around about 1/3rd wall height, but have hung back a little over  adding the narrow border in case it looks too much chez nous. I have also wrestled with myself over whether using broken paint effects is in the spirit of the place.

20150318_151317I have been in a quandary about whether or not to fit skirting/base boards in salon. I am not convinced that they will work in here and certainly not on the stairwells, though Trev struggles to envisage any space without them.

The answer to all three dilemmas appeared when I stripped this bit of the front salon wall back through seven layers of wallpaper to the original lime plaster from early 1800’s.

There, clearly, are remnants of a broken paint effect in two shades of blue and off-white, with a carmine red/bronzy shade at floor level, around 10″ deep. You can just about see a trace of the narrow dividing border between the two colours. (Right hand side has dried out ) At last, justification ( I know, why do I need it this time in France when I haven’t in previous projects?) that a painted skirting will work at this height in here and I can go ahead with my layered paint/wax  effects with the decorative strip .20150318_150301

Blue/grey too cold in here for me so will go ahead with straw and bronzy/pinky/red/taupe at base. Another colour that exists only in my fevered brain!

I am so taken with this raw area under the window that I just might keep it as a reminder of an earlier layer of history here.

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France, What we did, how we did it and what we used and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Episode 108- at last, some clues to support my ideas on paint effects and the answer to a vexatious question

  1. bizzyella says:

    That bit of wall does look fabulous. I love the rust red and the way it streaks up into the blue.

    Like

  2. Osyth says:

    Intuition … it seems yours is strong 🙂 Trev is a man and must be forgiven his stoic belief that no room is a room sans skirting!

    Like

    • This is a truth universally acknowledged. It helps that the house is supporting me with little historical hints………..anyway, what about YOUR property purchases ? It’s a chateau isn’t it and you can’t bring yourself to tell me!!!!!!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        We have our little house which I am just starting to work on and will talk about more as I go. The other (story to follow) has fallen through and certainly was a lucky escape …. it was indeed a tiny chateau (only about 155 square metres with a further 50 square metres of 10th century cellars) – a coup de foudre but I am now hardened to the fact that it was not to be. I am hugely frustrated now as I search again for that perfect house …. ggggrrrrrrr!!!

        Like

      • I am not entirely sure that perfect anything exists, at least not for me. My idea of this has changed in the last decade & may well change again.
        The French village house was going to be our “starter chateau” until we moved permanently, then we would trade up. Now I think this will be our last project
        Good luck in your search..

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        I just need to rid myself of my Rapunzel complex and all will be well 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Think we all have a little of that….

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        In seriousness – I am so impressed that you took on two projects. I know that the Maison Principale has to only be in need of a spritz because I am already having nightmares over the little house …. chapter one – kill the woodworm and be grateful they aren’t turmites!

        Like

Leave a Reply

