Episode 107- Why would anyone buy this house ?

Trevor wondering why!Renovation, Restoration, Explanation..

Here is The Man (wondering why) all those years ago when we bought our bargain basement hovel.

I never liked that decor, it had all the vintage charm of orange moquette carpet or fake brick wallpaper. It was all over salon and up the stairs too.

So, what did we achieve in our 14 days in France?

Right-We obliterated the last traces of wallpaper in the salon.

20150327_153834OK , you are struggling to grasp the significance of the fact that we have got as far as priming this wall. So may I present below before, during, and after. Any real renovator /restorer knows that it is the underpinnings that are the hard bit. Any fool can paint.

We will next time

023???????????????????

sept13 120(2)20150321_105844

20150322_11354120150327_153834

20150327_153804

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France, What we did, how we did it and what we used and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Episode 107- Why would anyone buy this house ?

  1. Lynda says:

    Gill, I can paint, but I abhor stripping wallpaper! I hate it so much that if I found the perfect home on the perfect land in the perfect place [wherever] I would not even consider buying it unless I could afford to let someone else remove the paper for me. 😛

    Like

    • Not a fan of stripping the stuff myself, it’s a good job the wallpapered 1960’s doors have gone and not all the walls are papered!! Also, in some rooms we have put up authentic wooden panelling, so no need to strip there!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Osyth says:

    Aye – it’s all in the prepping …. but gosh how patient one has to be at this stage 🙂

    Like

  3. I don’t envy you there. I abore decorating with a passion. It once took me an entire weekend to paint one wall. Not my best talent.

    Like

  4. bizzyella says:

    Ah, yes, the furniture in and the carpet down while the walls are still being patched. I know that phase all too well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

