Episode 106 – Tapis time, a rug for all seasons

20150317_115519For those of you who might actually care, I present proof that Trev has recovered sufficiently to climb ladders in France. I am aware that this photo suggests that he is striking a pose , but in fact he is wrestling with the  fourth and fifth phase of boxing in the new pipework & electrics in the front salon wall.

I have also been (bizarrely) bombarded with confirmation  that I picked the right rug for this room. Firstly , it was gazing at me from front cover of this magazine-right 20150329_145520

Then it popped up on Google, left-though I have now lost the source site, so apologies if I am infringing any permissions image18[1]

 

 

 

 

The style on the magazine is a little sugary for our house. Who lives with off- white linen upholstery? it wouldn’t last five minutes chez nous. The style  with the two great mirrors is much more me.

Rug is wool kilim and was vintage IKEA, years ago. I am pretty instinctive and usually fairly confident  in my choices, but setting a style and decorating this unusual mish-mash of a building that is now our French house has been my toughest challenge.

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Episode 106 – Tapis time, a rug for all seasons

  1. bizzyella says:

    Nice one, perfect for the south of France. Funny that it was sold by a Swedish company.

    Like

Leave a Reply

