The Thursday Three – Stucco & carved oak.

image

Today’s thursday three are a 16thc carved bog oak panel, a vintage suitcase from local Vide-grenier and a page from a back copy of “Campagne Decoration” magazine.
The latter is especially for my reno blog buddy Bizzyella, who is thinking of paint effects.
I know this is 18thc stucco and she has 19thc ceilings but the airy, cloudy sky vibe is the same.

At the risk of straying off-piste into 1980’s paint effects overkill ( think peach ragrolling-yuk!) I have started on some effects and they work.
And for all those restorers, renovators and remodellers out there remember, the only way is up

oh, and the disintegrating paint stained Birkenstocks are a bonus..

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Thursday Three – Stucco & carved oak.

  1. I’m no artistic sort but I love that piece of wood. It really is amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is
      I think it represents the phoenix,
      But whatever the symbolism it is a beautiful thing. I see these things now and then and have to have them. I will think of how I can display it later- current thoughts include insetting it into a reclaimed beam.

      Like

  2. Osyth says:

    That wood carving is beyond enviable!

    Like

  3. bizzyella says:

    Don’t let my photo studio see that stucco work. That’s just too good a backdrop for most portraits. As for the peach rag-rolling, yes, I have some of that, the whole downstairs of my rental, in fact, but it will be gone, soon. I think the previous owners used it to cover water damage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

