The Thursday Three- In which I actually make a critical curtain decision

20140719_073555Yes I know, I am obsessed. In my defence, having survived years of dust, dirt, demolition, rubble & squalor in our French village hovel , I think I am entitled to think about lovely fabrics and finishes.

Longer term visitors to this blog will know that most of my textiles collected  for the village house are antique or vintage, but I have strayed off-piste for a second new buy for the salon curtains.

There was a short list of three:-

1 White and taupe linen (too white) 2 Upcycling an Indian silk thread bedspread, 3 New velvet.

 

Well I have taken delivery of the velvet today. Looks like old silk velvet, but is practical synthetic mix   and drapes like a dream. Slightly crushed and battered look to the pile (will suit me then). 20150304_103435

A perfect neutral with merest hint of washed out gold.

 

Excuse me whilst I go and stroke these lovingly……………

 

 

 

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Thursday Three- In which I actually make a critical curtain decision

  1. Lynda says:

    I love dragonflies and that is a perfect weight for sheers at the window! Beautiful!

    Like

  2. bizzyella says:

    Ooh, gorgeous, and doesn’t look practical at all. Can’t wait to see them in action!

    Like

Leave a Reply

