More on the contentious curtains conversation

I am having my usual ongoing debate with myself re curtains, even though I would be better employed…

1) Earning enough money to pay for the final work at French village house

2) Thinking about filling, plastering and painting (ditto)

3) Implementing my much needed new fitness regime (which should involve more than my usual flying off the handle, jumping to conclusions, running myself ragged  and skipping other important stuff )

Even after whittling down I now have more textiles/curtains than windows & french doors, including two alternatives for the salon, which is the only room in the house with features that will credibly support any style other than “rough-luxe”. I now add a third option, palest natural gold slightly crushed velvet puddled light enhancing-A251P_SP258_02_25TD4m Remember 17thc Musketeer style?

https://coteetcampagne.wordpress.com/2015/02/14/pass-the-passementerie-i-think-i-am-addicted/

These right  would SO look  good with thin muslins underneath edged with-

20150227_110254

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More on the contentious curtains conversation

  1. Osyth says:

    Oooh! Talk to me before you ebaby them … I’ve got serious withdrawal since selling my own collection and we have news waiting to break vis-a-vis our own French Gaff(s) … I pay more than fairly at all times 😉

    Like

  2. Clair says:

    I like the gold velvet. Though I could never get away with it in my house, with 3 shelties. Not a chance! So where are all those tassles?

    Like

    • Leaning to the velvet myself, this is the only room I could get away with it in, it’s nicely creased and textured too
      I have textiles stashed in the garage in UK and in France and enough for a chateau, many will be sitting on ebay soon as we are downsizing

      Like

  3. Flying off handles and jumping to conclusions is Sooo last year…. 😉

    Like

    • True
      But I am no fashionista (now there’s a word); I took my finger of the pulse years ago. To be frank I don’t think it was ever on it
      What is this season’s “get healthy” plan anyway? If it includes running up and down stairs with planks of wood, pots of paint and lumps of stone, I’m way ahead!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

