Episode 98: renovation, restoration, insulation

800px-Librairie_Montaigne2

Well, there’s a striking ceiling treatment

Thank you… http://parvum-opus.blogspot.co.uk/2013/07/michelde-montaigne.html

What do they do in the winter?  where is the insulation?

Combining the original,  the beautiful, and the practical is a whole art form in itself.

Whilst I would love to treat the second storey bedroom ceilings this way, I cannot see how we could use the rooms in winter. The internet is stacked with images of beautiful but completely impractical French ceilings like this. We are  leaving the beams and ceiling joists exposed and either limewaxed or   white washed to a silvery shade, but have no choice but insulate and board between.

Layers of carbon neutral lagging spun from recycled bottles.20150203_160139

Will be an improvement on ceilings in our rented cottage in UK with hideous textured artex and faux beams.

Aha, so that’s what the mad woman looks like with no slap on….

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Episode 98: renovation, restoration, insulation

  1. Thought same as your last line maybe? But no…
    truth is that these uninsulated “style over practicality ” spaces are only visited in high summer!
    our budget is excruciatingly tight and won’t pretend otherwise, but I still want practical, insulated, warm, economical, sustainable, easy to run etc etc
    done whole big house and drafty but authentic true to period thing; stuff all that, I want comfortable in my old age

    Like

    • bizzyella says:

      Right now I am wintering in a summer house. Every time I see him, my handyman lists the ways my house leaks energy. No insulation is first on the list, closely followed by single-pane windows. All I know is that I spend my time at home wrapped in cheap fleece blankets from the local outlet store. When I imagined my life in France it did not involve this, I swear!

      If you want, send me an email and I’ll find out what the contractor is using in areas where we want the insulation to be thin but effective. You can have your beams, or most of them, and be toasty, too.

      Like

  2. bizzyella says:

    You look great! I’m with you on the French shelter magazines, though. No insulation, no storage, no privacy, weird light fixtures, I have to stop now. It just makes me too crazy. I hate to see what they publish on French Houzz; I look mainly in self-defense, in hopes of finding a French equivalent for the pretty-but-practical items I took for granted in the States. When I do find a place I like, it generally turns out that the client was not French. Sometimes it looks like there are budget issues. Other times, I just don’t know. Maybe they put the insulation between the gorgeous beamed ceiling and the roof.

    Like

Leave a Reply

