“I would like to thank ………………………”

liebster-blog-award-1“…………… many many people that I have never met, but have amused, inspired, advised and empathised with me over the last year or two via my blog.

Graham of A year in Perigord has kindly nominated me  for a “Liebster” award.

This is awarded by bloggers to bloggers as recognition of this thing we all do, so thank you Graham, we will have that dinner date one day. We may even let Trevor and Damon come along!

NOTE*I know that receiving one of these “nominations” isn’t always appreciated in the blogosphere , so if I have offended anyone out there with my nominations, I’m sorry; but once I got over my initial reservations I really enjoyed  doing this and setting my questions was fun !

The best thing about it is that some of my followers have found great new blogs to follow via this and that’s a very positive thing.

My part in this as a nominee is to answer  11 questions,with a notably French theme, posed by my nominator (is that actually a word?) and then to nominate 11 favourite bloggers  (with under 200 followers ) who I think also deserve a Liebster award and give a little picture of why I think you might want to swing by their blogs sometime.

Here are MY nominees, they have all cheered me up one way or another this  grey autumn so here we go

(Links via my blog rolls “Some blogs I like” and “Even more great blogs” see right)

French country (bizzyella) a very astute lady architect restoring a beautiful Beaux-Arts house in the Vendee whilst retaining her rapier wit and sense of proportion against all odds

Wherever you go there you are musing on expat life and striking a real chord with those of us who are braving life in an another country (also expert balcony gardener and purveyer of fine range cookers!)

lapetitemaisonbijoux creating beautiful hand crafted jewellery in a little house in a French wood!

osyth writer, adventurer and fellow fan of village life in La France Profonde

myfrenchhaven blog diary about creating a B&B in France with entertaining musical sub-titles

Lechicenrose Traveller, Francophile, and  a lovely, positive soul

ourlittlehouseinfrance French home owner and eclectic blogger

vanishingpirates  struggling manfully with the four “D’s”(digging, drilling, dust and dirt) and making a little music in deepest Belgium

notewords music teacher, writer and keeping tatting alive as an art form whilst being nibbled to death by ducks………..

Eugenie Street homemaker and serial renovator, creating beautiful interiors

The French Medley French home-makers blog-with full instructions

If any of you above have more than 200 followers, apologies, but I cannot always work that out!

*Here are the guidelines if any of  you would like to  accept a “Liebster” award :

  • Thank the person who nominated you and link their blog to your post
  • Answer 11 questions they have asked you
  • Nominate 11 bloggers who have 200 followers or fewer for the award
  • Ask 11 questions of those bloggers
  • Let your nominees know you nominated them
  • Add the Liebster Award logo to your blog

Guys! it’s COMPLETELY optional – but I have had good fun with my nominations & questions- If you do decide to give it a go, here are my questions for you :-

1. What is the best thing about blogging, for you?

2. Do you  ever read your old posts and cringe? (no, that’s just me then..)

3. If money was no object, where would you live and why?

4. What book can you read over and over again and still love it?

5. What was the best piece of advice anyone ever gave you? and

6. Did you follow it?

7. What was your favourite lesson at school

8. Who is your best friend?

9. What is the best gift you ever received?

10. Coast or Country?

11. Now or later?

RIGHT! WHAT ABOUT THOSE QUESTIONS?

This is the heavily French-loaded set of devilishly incisive questions put to me by Mr Year In  Perigord:-

  • What inspired you to blog?

My son, so blame him

  • How much time do you spend on your blog?

Too much, when I should really be earning a living

  • Where do you write your blog posts?

At my office desk (where I should really be earning a living)

  • Where did you go on your first holiday abroad without your parents?

France, bien sûr!

  • Share a mistake you remember making when trying to speak a foreign language.

OMG, which one?? How about using the verb “introduire” when introducing my son-in-law to a neighbour, not realising at that time that particular verb means “introducing” in the sense of “inserting”

  • What’s your favourite French film of all time, and why?

Jacques Tati- Mon Oncle- too silly for words

  • If you could spend an hour with any French person – real or fictional, past or present – who would it be?

Jacques De Molay, “Last” Grand master of the Knights Templar , so I can ask him about the facts behind the fiction

  • Do you have a favourite drink you like to relax with at the end of a hard day?

Old vines Carignan red wine from the foothills of the Pyrenees in the sun-baked Languedoc “steeped in history and bathed in class” ( perfect quote from https://www.virginwines.co.uk/wines )

  • Starter or dessert?

Both, and to hell with the diet

  • If you were going to eat your last-ever meal tonight, what would you have?

Scallops, wild mushrooms, crispy airdried ham, cherry tomatoes and freshly made pasta tossed in home made pistou

  • If you were president of France for a day, what would you change?

I would reduce tax & social charges to give both native French businesses and overseas investment a  sorely needed boost

Gillx

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Food and wine, Renovation and restoration diary- France. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “I would like to thank ………………………”

  1. Hi Gill sorry for late reply I am just catching up on blog stuff today! Congratulations on your well deserved Liebster Blog Award! Thank you very much also for recognising my blog, Le Chic En Rose, with a nomination and also for including a link to it via your blog roll. Your comments are so lovely – I am so happy to hear that I have made a small difference in your life and likewise enjoy reading your posts about your French adventures and wonderful interior design ideas very much! I will have a think about things as I’m not sure I can find 11 other blogs to nominate! I do read a lot of blogs but most of those seem to have more than 200 followers or have already been nominated or state clearly they are a “no award blog”! It does seem to be a bit of a minefield and one doesn’t want to cause offence to anyone by either not accepting an award or nominating people who aren’t interested! I am so grateful and happy that people read my blog and that I have received a nomination from someone I have exchanged likes and comments with rather than a complete “stranger” – and I don’t want to go round and find blogs to follow just so I can nominate them! I will mull it over but at the very least I have been thinking for some time about doing a blog roll which I think is a great idea, so I will get to work organising that and will of course include a link to “Blog-sur-Aude” there! Many thanks and congratulations again Rosemary (Le Chic En Rose)! 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Rosemary

      Thanks for that, and I understand your reservations re any of these blog awards. I was unsure myself whether to take part in case someone I nominated was unhappy about it.
      I know that people blog for different reasons and I was conscious of that, but I have enjoyed reading all these blogs and I hope that, at the very least, I will have brought them a few new readers.
      I do love the happy and informative style of your particular blog, so many out there don’t seem to capture the spirit of the writer, but I get a very strong feeling that your blog does!
      I have amended the blogroll link to “le chic en rose”, I did notice I had stuffed up with this yesterday!

      Gill

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Gill that’s so kind of you to change the name – I think when I signed up for WordPress it asked for a user name and it would have been better on reflection to just use the name of my blog but then I notice quite a lot of people have both a user name and a blog name (yourself included)! I do try and just write as myself – no point in being someone or something I’m not! I love meeting new people and chatting away too which probably comes over in the blog as well! I love your take on the trials, tribulations and the many adventures involved in restoring an old house in France 🙂 I’ll start work on my own blog roll soon (may link the award with that post!). Thanks in the meantime for all your support, have a great weekend Rosemary 🙂

        Like

  2. Glad you accepted the award, Gill. You deserve it for all the hard work you put in on this blog. Well done! (Love your answers to my questions too.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

