The Thursday Three- country cottage prints and classical engravings

DSC01604I am fairly sure that this unsigned print is from a watercolour by artist and illustrator Helen Allingham. Whilst generally known as the “country cottage” artist (her work is so detailed  that it is studied by architectural historians ), I have a soft spot for her landscapes which are an amazing evocation of the English countryside.

Take a look at  http://www.helenallingham.com. On a pioneering note, she was the first woman to be admitted to full membership of the staunchly all male Royal Watercolour Society in the late 19th century.

Apparently she travelled to France to paint, but I have been unable to track down any of  these pictures, but I would really like a print  from one of those!

As far as prints go, I rarely buy mass produced ones unless they have real merit and quality paper as I prefer original artwork. However I have posted a few exceptions in earlier blogs and today I showcase this pair of large engravings in classical style and  good, old frames. They depict a pair of royal princes dressed up as a fisherman and a hunter respectively, real kid’s stuff and good fun at the time I expect.

I like their solemn role play faces, a look I recognise in my similarly aged grandson.

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Art, design and inspiration blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

