The Thursday Three- It’s all in the detail

???????????????????????????????Whilst we are a still a long way from finishing touches and putting the personal into our French village house, I am already mentally editing and allocating our stuff room by room for when the fun bit starts.

Whilst “finishing” or “dressing” a room is a no-no to me (unless it’s for a photo shoot) and I firmly believe that rooms should evolve over time to suit the folk who live there, I do think that the little details speak as strongly as  the grand piano or the priceless painting or the designer sofa in creating a mood.DSC03012

Be assured that we have none of the above, this is still the bargain basement blog, but you get my drift.

Character is created by putting the things you use and the things you love where everyone in your world can see themDSC03011

 

Above leftfamily heirloom books, boxes  and bits- all with a story

Right-collection of vintage and modern repro chandelier drops

Left- antique satin stitch hand embroidery edging

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Thursday Three- It’s all in the detail

  1. Love seeing Dad’s old Arabian Nights 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, it is still exactly where I put it in October 2012 when you gave it me and has probably been dusted twice since at most (Christmas treat in our house, dusting bookshelves). I have mentioned it to my son and heir but he is still drifting along in a parallel universe

      Like

  2. bizzyella says:

    Ooh, Mrs. Beeton… I have never actually found one but my guess is that those old housekeeping books are a great source for planet-friendly cleaning materials and methods. Maybe when I do dig into one I’ll be disappointed — I’ll find out they use lye for everything or something — but it’s nice to think about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

