The Thursday Three- it’s curtains…………….

 

DSC03008  because we are near the end of the French village house project (and because I am obsessed with textiles)  I am applying what is left of my mind to CURTAINS!

I bought these chunky cotton canvas ones- Left & below- with French grey/blue and aqua stripes on white for the hall. We have an old wooden front door which I want to keep , so we will require draught exclusion properties.

The antique early 19thc botanical  drawing is one of a pair that will be hung in the hall also.

???????????????????????????????

The yellow and white curtains-Below left- are a vintage Dorma design called “soleil”(very apt!) and I have chosen these to bring in some sunlight to the cave bedroom which is the darkest room in the house and needs all the light-reflecting tricks we can introduce. The fabric is a lovely crisp cotton self- stripe with a feathery overprint and little rose medallions .

Gathered up it looks like an 18thc  toile.$_57

Because these curtains are only about 72 inches long, I am adding a deep bottom border in this heavy linen union stripe fabric (Awning stripe Camomile-  http://www.lauraashley.com ) which I had in their 30% off sale$(KGrHqF,!pUE7BcvgQHkBPj78YsZZg~~60_57

 

 

This introduces the pale French grey again

I have been looking for antique/vintage taupe and white linen curtains (or monogrammed sheets that I could adapt) for the salon for ages, but the few still about are commanding exorbitant prices so I was very happy to find this pair at http://www.laredoute.com reduced from £158 to £38 in salefrench linen monogrammed curtains

They look authentic, French , simple, gorgeous, and will maximise the light coming into this sunny south west facing room. Loving the embroidery324447694_0_CL_2_324447694-54dee6e8-e355-4e46-9cd6-20badc330e3e

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All curtains will be finished slightly overlong as I like that tumbled-on-the floor effect and it adds to the insulation factor

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Thursday Three- it’s curtains…………….

  1. You are making such good progress!

    Like

  2. bizzyella says:

    Pretty stuff. Some day I’ll be able to shop for curtains, too. La Redoute is kind of a guilty pleasure for me. It’s all brand-new made-in-China knockoffs of the real thing but the look is right and the sale prices, especially, are quite good.

    Like

    • Well made, good fabric and they look the part so fine by me. I don’t mind the odd new textile as most of the rest is old and unique. Going down the “everything old and authentic” road isn’t something I’m driven to do any more

      Like

Leave a Reply

