The Thursday Three- C is for chic: crochet lace,ceramics, chinese characters

crochet lace and mesh bedspreadWhilst it may be true that you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone, it is also true that you don’t know what you want until you see it! I have been looking for a light antique or vintage (even I don’t know the current definitions and I really don’t care) bed spread or “couvre-lit” to suit the terrace  bedroom for years with no success.

Then I find this unique, beautiful, hand made piece  left and right- when I wasn’t really looking and it has the cream, amethyst (parme) and period pink colours of the paint finish that I have just completed in the terrace room in France. Reminds me of the delicate lace, crochet, tatting etc at which my great aunts, Ethel, Maud & Annie excelled, my mother too. Here it is chucked over bed in UK. It was probably missed by other bargain hunters as was listed under “tablecloths” ( I don’t think so! or maybe our meals are messier than most?) ???????????????????????????????

Then we have this French faience serving dish from a vide-grenier DSC02758and one of a pair of large embroidery on silk pictures for the dining area. Somebody PLEASE tell me what the symbols mean!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!DSC02327

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

