Episode 79- two weeks of life in France- a little bit of work

20140728_102859Renovation, restoration, relaxation-

As we need and must have a proper rest we didn’t do a lot on the French trip.

I did finish the seven layered paint effect in the terrace bedroom and yes, it was worth it. The picture isn’t crisp as taken on my phone but will take my good camera with me next time and do a detailed post on the technique which I made up as I went along – as per usual.

Gives incredible depth and character to the walls and really works with the feel of the house as we get to final stages in this room.20140727_202837

Trevor also cut some tiles to finish the top of the terrace wall which has degraded due to sun etc since the building work finished.

Locals often use a terracotta roof tile for this scenario, but I wanted it smooth and flat to lean on when I am admiring the view and somewhere to put a coffee cup or wine glass when there are a few of us up there. If I ever reach the stage when I am not too embarrassed to let anyone other than workmen in! We found these stony, dragged  finish tiles as large floor tiles in M.Bricolage and cut to fit, they look great and it took exactly one box of eight  62cm x 32 cm tiles and cost 15 euros in total.

Naturally we have laid with a infinitesimal  slant at back so water from here will run onto our terrace and not next door’s roof. It is illegal here to do work to your house that allows water to be diverted to a neighbour’s house

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France, What we did, how we did it and what we used and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Episode 79- two weeks of life in France- a little bit of work

  1. Lynda says:

    Clever work; both of you!

    Like

  2. Thanks- think Trev thought it was going to a bit eighties scumble glazed hippy-dippy but had to admit it looks good. I only used cheap paint & my own shades mixed with colourisers ( and my great grandad’s decorative effects brushes!)

    Like

  3. The paint effect looks good in this pic. I look forward to reading more about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

