Episode 66- Stop everything……..

Trevor wondering why

Renovation & restoration stops,

 

Where do I start?! regular readers will know that we were in France for the first time  for seven months at the end of April.

We got back on May 5th; I have posted a couple of low key pieces since but I have not been able to bring myself to update the true situation regarding us or the village house  properly because everything in our lives is on hold.

This is an honest “warts and all” blog on our project , so here goes………….

We have been dealt a serious blow. Trevor had a minor op in early April and since that point, in an  apparently unrelated chain of events, he has become more and more  weak and short of breath with the most worrying aspect being chest pains.

He cannot go back to work until his symptoms have  been checked out, diagnosed and any treatment started.

He could not do any  work on the house and is frustrated and bored as the novelty of  sitting around here is beginning to pale.

I obviously have to carry on working but it is not easy under these circumstances. We can’t commit to any more work or the planned move until we know more. We are in limbo, it is awful.

 

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Episode 66- Stop everything……..

  1. Lynda says:

    We know this painful situation. It is very scary. I do hope you will have shared with us what it was, and if he is back to normal.

    Like

    • Scroll forward to episode 78. It was three blocked arteries. They were a mess. I didn’t go into fine detail on the blog because I’m not sure how candid to be.
      Basically, he was diagnosed, slotted into surgery with a genius saint of a doctor following a lucky cancellation and sent home for eight days till surgery date and told to rest and hope that the blockage didn’t fully close over ” call me if he turns a funny colour or stops breathing ” ARRRGGHH!!!! Worse week of my life.

      Like

      • Lynda says:

        This is a rare utterance for me, but OMG! I would not have handled this well at all!

        Like

      • I’m not sure I did. I had my son-in-law in hospital too ( who went onto have chemo for an aggressive cancer ) the same day they stented Trevor.
        Anyway we are all still here right now and for that I am very thankful

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lynda says:

        Will you be eligible for health care in France? That has to be my number one worry as Bob and I get older. The current fearless leader has most in our income bracket in a terrible spot and the rest are simply doing without and being penalized for it. Who knows what the new fearless leader will do when he or she hits the Whitehouse. It can’t be good.

        I think that from what I have gleaned so far that Trevor is ding quite well, but how is your son-in-law? (I lost my father and a brother to cancer and yet my mother-in-law fought and won three battles with the evil C. )

        Like

      • If we can overcpme the issues regarding imminent Brexit we might be OK. Depends on whether we can establish ourselves as contributing to the French system over next couple of years

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lynda says:

        Had to look that one up… That could indeed be a problem. Praying for a good outcome.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks. It would be beyond frustrating if we have got to this point after ten years of hard labour on the house, then the bureaucratic nightmare of Brexit makes the move unviable for us.

        Like

  2. I am so sorry to hear this news. I will keep you both in my thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

