Episode 55- all kinds of nothing…

032renovation, restoration, subtle French distinctions!

Try as I might I cannot get a shot of the whole house frontage because the street is too narrow.

That is, too narrow for sweeping hovel shots! It is perfect for mock battles with small boys as being flanked by tall stone buildings prevents said small boy from unsportingly sneaking behind you and  attacking from the rear.

He is well versed in computer/x box game knightspeak and solemnly invites me  to play by offering me the handles of two large plastic templar swords  whilst saying in  a deep and rather menacing voice

 

“choose…………. your ………………….weapon!”

 

This is all a bit academic as I have to choose the one that isn’t red as that is his favourite and his grip on that option is vice like.

We commence some thrusting and parrying, or whatever one does with broadswords and are engaged in a particularly heated battle when I accidentally reverse into the nice young lady from the delicatessan who was trying to quietly slip behind me  on our very narrow street .

I apologise and she says ça ne fait rien”, which I now know means “don’t worry about it”

Later that week I confuse this phrase with “de rien” which means “it’s nothing” when used as a response to a ” thank you”, and I get a confused look

All these untranslatable subtleties, every time I think we are cracking it language wise I put my foot in my mouth again ( and that’s not easy when you have builder’s hip!)

 

 

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

