Episode 52- OMG what’s happening!!!

sept13 037renovation, restoration, trepidation

We haven’t been able to get over to France since October last.

Naturally I am worrying that:-

1) The roof has blown off Maison Priest and all my new decor is ruined

2) The neighbours think we aren’t coming back and the mayor has invoked some ancient by-law  and flattened the house to create a new car park for the fishermen

3) The house behind has been turned into a hostel for behaviourally challenged youths

4) The apartment at Argeles has been flooded by the eccentric neighbour next door and because all the floors are tiled and skirted up to the walls, we won’t know until we open the front door and get washed down the stairs

There are some even scarier scenarios that I daren’t even articulate on this blog!

I think I have inherited the ” imagining extreme and unlikely scenarios” gene from my mother. When we went away on holiday, even for a weekend, she would dread the return journey , covering her face with her hands as we turned into our street  and begging my father to tell her if the house had burned down in her absence.

AAARRRGGGHHHH!!!!! calm down calm down calm down……..

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Episode 52- OMG what’s happening!!!

  1. Lynda says:

    Now as this post is well into the past, I will share with you that we spent the summer in Northern California (when I was 13) and my father drove down once or twice a month to check on things. On one visit he got there early, watered the lawns, opened the house to air it, then went to do some errands. He arrived several hours later to find that some malcontent had stuffed the hose through the front bedroom window and turned it on full blast. Needless to say the carpets and padding had to be removed and weren’t replaced till we came home at summer’s end. Thankfully, the house was built on a slab or the flooring would have been toast too!

    So I get your feelings, anything is possible, though in most instances unlikely. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Karen, but I am hoping this is all in my mind!

    Like

  3. I had to use a professional company for Construction Drying Monterey last year

    Like

  4. Sorry sis you already have itx

    Like

  5. It’s hopeless if it’s genetic lol. I get it too 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

