The Thursday Three….06/03/2014

I love plaster casts and statues.

They remind me of my time at Art College- 1971-1974- where I think we were probably the last generation to be tutored in the disciplines of drawing both from life models and from these pale reminders of the art classes of the 18th and 19th centuries.

Generations of art students learnt to  draw from both plaster casts and fragments of real classical statues where live models weren’t available.They were a memorable feature for me and I cannot imagine a workshop or studio without them.DSC02645    DSC02644

 

 

 

 

 

 

I do like this proportionately accurate lady who was clearly modelled  from life and this pair of startlingly realistic hands which actually have hooks at the back for wall hanging. It took me two years to convince my grandson that there aren’t a pair of real hands inside.

Every detail, even the broken fingernails, are apparent.

Almost certainly an art school project as we all did it as part of the classical curriculum. There are probably a pair of my hands out there somewhere…

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Art, design and inspiration blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

