In which the Student becomes the Master

DSC02399Is this normal?

We were sitting drinking tea in bed one morning and I reached in to the Laura Ashley carrier bag on my side of the bed and whipped out my latest  vintage embroidery .

I see that I have you all hooked now………….

It is a typically 1930’s runner with hand embroidery on a heavy glazed cotton sateen in a stone/raw linen shade . This is pretty rare as these embroideries usually have a white or cream ground, but it is  perfect for terrace room in France.

I have no use for a runner (as they catch dust and get stained by the cup of coffee that you inevitably put down on them) so I ask Trevor what he thinks we should do with it, not expecting a coherent answer.

” Split it in half and mount each piece  individually as a wall hanging”

Blood and sand ! brilliant ! I have trained a Black Country boy up to be a vintage embroidery  expert with valid flashes of inspiration ! Who would have thought……DSC02400DSC02404

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Above, beautiful solid wood corbels from my favourite internet site- painted cream and distressed?.. I will have to ask the Oracle.

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

